Burleigh Heads Surfboard Riders Club Inc

Best Single Time Ever for 2 Time Timmy

January 20th, 2014 Posted in Latest News



Burleigh boy Tim Hyland etched his name into history when he won the 2014 Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin Classic, the second time for Tim, after winning it as a 17 year old in 2008.


Once again the Burleigh Boardriders put on arguably the best surfing event of the year, the Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin Classic, this year in honour of surfing and shaping legend Allan Byrne. AB did not let the lads down either, with the longest northerly flat spell broken that weekend with the best waves Burleigh has seen for months, and there was many of AB’s old single fins surfing in the event as well.


There was a roll call of some great surfers, Mark Occhilupo, Dave Rastovich, Noa Deane, Matt Hoy, Beau Emerton, Nathan Hedge, and many others, plus a strong field of Burleigh locals including Burleigh’s own Jay “Bottle” Thompson. Classic single fin surfboards, amazing surfing, and most of all a fun weekend watched by thousand on the natural amphitheatre of Burleigh Point.


The surf was pumping for start of competition both mornings of the event, with some sweet Burleigh barrels, and competition between surfers was in a spirit like that unseen in any other event. The sponsors product was consumed by the spectators with Breaka Milk for the kiddies and cold Caronas for the the adults, and it was really a festive atmosphere which one and all enjoyed.


The Junior Final was hotly contested, and the kids some as young as 14, ripped into the point on boards more than twice their age, with Sheldon Simkus winning from Snapper clubmate Quinn Bruce. The kids ripped in and the groms were once again a favourite of the spectators on the point.


After three days of fun and games, and excellent surfing the final did not disappoint. There were three local lads, the crowd favourite, Jye “Kelly Slater” Brazenas, Tim Hyland, and Jay “Bottle” Thompson. Two Main Beach lads, Chris Bennetts, and Damien Healy, with former world number2 , Nathan Hedge rounding off a great field for the three thousand spectators to watch.


There was a touching moment before the final, when the Byrne family spread the last of the great Allan Byrne’s ashes off Burleigh Point before the final, Burleigh being one of AB’s favourite breaks, and all the crowd was silent and lined the point in respect of a great man. It was such a fitting tribute before an exciting final.


When the final got underway, it was a slow start but then things started heating up, with local favourites Jye Brazenas and Tim Hyland, and North End lads Chris Bennetts and Damien Healy all having a good wave each, with the more experienced former WCT surfers Jay Bottle Thompson and Nathan Hedge in selective mode. Waves were hard to find, when Tim Hyland got a second good wave, and as time ticked away, it was the last wave from each surfer that would decide the final. Chris Bennetts grabbed a good one, and was looking the goods, but as he finished his wave Tim Hyland grabbed a long one banging off a series of backhand re-entries which sealed the deal, and gave him his second Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin Classic title.


Tim was absolutely wrapped as he was presented the AB Channel Bottom single fin from Allan’s brother Ian Byrne, who won the first single fin classic, and the rest of the finalists covered him in Carona. Tim was wrapped, “This is the hardest event to win, and to win today against these guys is like a dream come true”. It is hard to say who was happier, Tim or his Dad, Pete, and the Burleigh boys were wrapped to keep the title at home.


The day finished with the thousands of spectators rocking out to local bands “Tokyo Beef” and “The Gonzo Show”, topping off a huge weekend. The people of Burleigh Heads love this event, and the Burleigh Boardriders are not about to change it or give it away. One of the great things was all the spectators helped out to keep the point clean and free of litter, with little carnage, except for full bins on display next morning.






1st Tim Hyland

2nd Chris Bennetts

3rd Jye Brazenas

4th Damien Healy

5th Nathan hedge

6th Jay Thompson




1st Sheldon Simkus

2nd Quinn Bruce

3rd Joseph Brooker

4th Toby Mossop

5th Liam O’Brien

6th Blain Robinson


Best Tube Steve Powell

Highest Scoring Wave Ryan Grey (10 points)



Post a Comment